Emilie Harting: RHINEBECK BECKONS

Emilie C. Harting has written on historic restoration, art vacations, hiking, archaeology, food, literary sites, and walking cities.
Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome

WWI Caudron G.III, Pioneer Aircraft Day at Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome. Photo: Sean Traynor

I’ve been visiting Rhinebeck since the 1960s, and always stop by whenever I’m on my way to northern New York State or New England. When I’m recommending the village to friends, I find myself waxing lyrical about how Rhinebeck is the most enchanting place in New York State, and has the kind of tranquility you just can’t find in urban areas. Because of its location, ninety miles of New York City, Rhinebeck is an ideal place to spend a weekend and explore the Hudson Valley. Read more…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Emilie Harting: RHINEBECK BECKONS

  1. You are so right. Rhinebeck transports.

  2. Emilie, That brought back so many wonderful memories of Rhinebeck, including buying a $5.00 harmonica at Sickle’s General Store and walking on the streets trying to play “Oh Suzannah;” wandering into one cute little boutique-y shop after another — marveling at the bounty of merchandise available from everywhere — including crafts from the Amazan. But I never stayed there — and your article is giving me the itch to spend a weekend there. Thank you.

  3. RITA FLOOD says:

    You’re right about the area..and what we love doing is visiting Clinton Vineyards…they have an amazing place and their wines are remarkable. In fact we went there right after Chelsea’s wedding because we wanted to get the TRIBUTE wine which she gave to her guests. Worth going and tasting. Rita

  4. Ana B says:

    It’s nice to know that other people feel what I feel about Rhinebeck. After living 18 years in Westchester County, I packed the kids and moved to Rhinebeck. All of my friends thought I was crazy. I still get negative comments from some, especially those who know that I grew up in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It has been six years since my move, I can report that I finally found a hometown in America: Rhinebeck, NY. My children cannot imagine living anywhere else (yet) and I feel the energy this sacred land has to offer day in and day out.

  5. Kathy Mangan says:

    I love hearing about the places that travel writers feel most at home and return to year after year. Of all the places we visit, these are the ones with a special something that breaks the been-there-done-that mold and beckons us back for more smiles and experiences.

  6. Pingback: Great Stories about Rhinebeck in the News- Enjoy Rhinebeck

Leave a Reply

